European Games

European Games 2023

The third edition of the European Games is set to take place in Kraków and the regions of Małopolska and Śląsk in Poland from 21 June to 2 July 2023. The hosts were unanimously elected at an Extraordinary General Assembly of the EOC the day after the Opening Ceremony of the 2019 edition of the European Games in Minsk.

Overseeing the Games is the EOC Coordination Commission, expertly led by its Chair, Hasan Arat (TUR), and Deputy Chairs Zlatko Matesa (CRO) and Niels Nygaard (DEN).

The location for the 2023 European Games offers splendid venues, which will require only minimal work on infrastructure in line with IOC Agenda 2020 recommendations on the environment and sustainability. Poland is also well known for its beauties and heritage, making it a very popular destination for tourists from across the world.

The European Games in 2023 will be an important stepping-stone for the continent’s athletes on the road to the Olympic Games, with many of the sports acting as European championships and/or provide qualifications for Paris 2024. The Games will also be a showcase for some newer sports, such as beach handball, which will be making its first appearance at a senior multi-sport event since the ANOC World Beach Games Qatar 2019.

Sports Programme

  • Archery
  • Athletics
  • Badminton
  • Basketball 3×3
  • Beach Handball
  • Beach Soccer
  • Boxing
  • Breaking
  • Canoe
  • Cycling
  • Fencing
  • Judo
  • Karate
  • Kickboxing
  • Modern Pentathlon
  • Mountain Running (mass event)
  • Padel
  • Rugby Sevens
  • Shooting
  • Ski Jumping (summer)
  • Sport Climbing
  • Table Tennis
  • Taekwondo
  • Teqball
  • Triathlon

Coordination Commission


Mr Hasan ARAT (TUR) – Vice President, Turkish Olympic Committee/EOC Executive Committee Member

Vice Chairs

Mr Zlatko MATEŠA (CRO) – President, Croatian Olympic Committee/EOC Executive Committee Member

Mr Niels NYGAARD (DEN) – Former EOC Vice President/Former EOC Acting President


Ms Yael ARAD (ISR) – President, Israeli Olympic Committee

Mr Mats ÅRJES (SWE) – President, Swedish Olympic Committee

Mr Alejandro BLANCO (ESP) – President, Spanish Olympic Committee

Mr Sergii BUBKA (UKR) – President, Ukrainian Olympic Committee/IOC Member

Mr Enrico DELLA CASA (ITA) – President, Union Européenne de Cyclisme (UEC)

Mr Daniel DIMEWSKI (MKD) – President, Olympic Committee of North Macedonia

Mr Zsolt GYULAY (HUN) – President, Hungarian Olympic Committee

Ms Brigitte HENRIQUES (FRA) – President, French Olympic Committee

Mr Gerd KANTER (EST) – Chair, EOC Athletes’ Commission

Mr Dobromir KARAMARINOV (BUL) – President, European Athletics (EA)

Ms Sarah KEANE (IRL) President, Irish Olympic Committee

Mr Roman KUMPOŠT (CZE) – Vice President, Czech Olympic Committee

Mr Jozef LIBA (SVK) – Secretary General, Slovak Olympic Committee

Ms Iwona ŁOTYSZ (POL) – Deputy Secretary General, Polish Olympic Committee

Princess MARIA-ANUNCIATA of LIECHTENSTEIN (LIE) – Vice President, Liechtenstein Olympic Committee

Mr Octavian MORARIU (ROU) – President, Rugby Europe/IOC Member

Ms Monika OLSZEWSKA (POL) – Director, Coordination Office for the European Games 2023/Ministry of State Assets

Sir Hugh ROBERTSON (GBR) – Chairman, British Olympic Committee

Mr Jean-Michel SAIVE (BEL) – President, Belgian Olympic Committee

Mr António José SILVA (POR) – President, Ligue Européenne de Natation (LEN)

Mr Thomas WEIKERT (GER) – President, German Olympic Committee

Ms Maja Martyna WŁOSZCZOWSKA (POL) – IOC Member, two-time Olympic silver medallist

Mr Albert WOODS (GBR) – President, European Canoe Association (ECA)

Ms Anneke Van ZANEN-NIEBERG (NED) – President, National Olympic Committee of Netherlands